Chicago Vegan Chef Showdown

13 Jul

Chicago is becoming known for its vegan community. With various vegan and vegan-friendly establishments opening this year, 2011 also marks the first annual Chicago Vegan Chef Showdown! Sponsored by Upton’s Naturals, proceeds from the event will be going to Mercy For Animals, an organization dedicated to preventing cruelty to farmed animals. Here are the important details:

Date: Saturday, July 23
Location: The Funky Buddha Lounge (728 W Grand Ave)
Time: 3-7pm

The event is all ages and free to get into.

So here’s how it works: the showdown will consist of 12 chefs/teams who will utilize Upton’s seitan in a dish of their choice. The food will be available for you to try for a $1 suggested donation per sample. Each attendee will be provided with a ticket when they enter the venue. This ticket will be used as their “voting” ticket to vote for the dish they feel is the best. Needless to say, there will be lots of food to enjoy!

And guess what!? Yours truly will be competing in the showdown! That’s right, I’m teaming up with my good friend Blythe and we’re going to help feed many hungry mouths. As much as I’m dying to tell you what we are making, I can’t just yet as we are still keeping it under wraps. I can say, however, that we are making something that most vegans haven’t had in a long time. Have I peaked your curiosity? You’ll just have to come to the showdown…I hope to see you there!

5 Responses to “Chicago Vegan Chef Showdown”

  1. Lu July 19, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Megmeister, I’m going! Blythe is a FB friend of mine, though I’ve never met her in person. :) How is this event going to work–can people show up at any time, or is it like a TV cooking competition, where there’s a sequence of events leading up to a winner? Thanks!

    • megmeister July 19, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Hey there, Lu! I’m so excited that you’ll be going! Blythe is awesome. Glad you’ll get to meet her in person. =)

      You can show up anytime…samples will be available between 3 and 6:30pm. We bring the food already prepared so you can come and sample it as soon as you get there! Samples are available for a suggested donation of $1 each, and the top 3 chefs/teams that sell the most samples win. So glad you’ll be there and I’m looking forward to meeting you!

  2. Lu July 19, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Oh, neat! Though I was looking forward to the “Masterchef”-style throwdown, complete with screaming judges, that I had constructed in my mind. :)

    I’ll bring lots of singles. My name isn’t really Lu, btw. I’ll introduce myself when I see you. :)

  3. Lu July 19, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    p.s. I just remembered I have met Blythe, at Veganmania last year! Oops.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 824 other followers

