Restaurant-Style “Crab” Rangoon with Sweet and Sour Sauce

21 Sep

Cream cheese is one of those food items that vegans didn’t have until recently. The deliciously smooth and versatile properties of this product offer a variety of options and allows us to have our cheesecake and eat it too!

Galaxy Nutritional FoodsJust the other day I tried the newly debuted cream cheese by Galaxy Nutritional Foods, Inc. and I must say…I really like it! They currently have two flavors available: Classic Plain and Chive & Garlic. Both have a taste and texture amazingly like the traditional dairy version and, in my experience, hold up wonderfully when baked. I really don’t have anything negative to say except that I feel the Chive & Garlic needs a little added kick, like a subtle zing of garlic flavor.

Below is a recipe for “Crab” Rangoon which reminds me of the traditional restaurant-style version I used to have back when I ate meat. I LOVED this stuff. Vegan crab can be difficult to find in stores, but is available from online retailers such as Pangea and Vegan Essentials. Galaxy Nutritional Foods’ cream cheese, however, is available at Whole Foods as well as other natural food stores and many local supermarket chains. Developed so that the “crab” is optional, the following recipe is complete with a simple recipe for Sweet & Sour Sauce.

"Crab" Rangoon

Restaurant-Style “Crab” Rangoon with Sweet & Sour Sauce
Yields 20-25 pieces

Sweet & Sour Sauce:
½ cup pineapple juice
¼ cup seasoned rice vinegar
1 teaspoon arrowroot
¼ cup granulated sugar
1½ teaspoons tomato paste

Crab Rangoon:
peanut oil for frying
¼ pound vegan crab (optional)
1 (8-ounce) container plain imitation cream cheese, at room temperature (I used Galaxy Nutritional Foods)
2 teaspoons green onion, finely minced
1 small clove garlic, grated
1 teaspoon granulated sugar
½ teaspoon soy sauce (1 teaspoon if not using crab)
20-25 wonton wrappers*, thawed

Begin with the sauce by combining pineapple juice and rice vinegar in a small saucepan. Whisk in arrowroot until dissolved. Add sugar and tomato paste, and stir until combined. Cook over high heat, stirring continuously until mixture boils. Continue to cook and stir until sauce thickens slightly, approximately 30-60 seconds. Set aside and allow to cool.

Heat peanut oil in a medium-size saucepan until approximately 375º F.

Meanwhile, begin putting together the “crab” rangoon by combining “crab” (if using), cream cheese, green onion, garlic, sugar and soy sauce. Place approximately 1 tablespoon of filling in the center of each wonton wrapper and moisten the edges of each wonton wrapper with water. Gather all four corners together at the top and pinch gently to seal, ensuring that all sides are sealed.

Add 1-2 rangoon at a time to the preheated oil and fry until golden brown, about 15-20 seconds. They may need to be turned over and held down so that the tops are browned as well. Remove with a heat-resistant slotted spoon and drain on paper towels. Repeat until all rangoon have been fried. Allow to cool before serving.

*Many wonton wrappers contain eggs or other animal products so be sure to read the ingredients. The brand I use is Twin Marquis which is available at Asian grocery stores as well as online. Click here for a photo.

NOTE: My intention with this blog is to spread the good word about vegan food and to share my personal recipes. I occasionally receive free samples and will sometimes use and mention them here on Vegan Food Addict in an effort to help further promote a plant-based diet and the variety of foods available. The cream cheese noted in this recipe was a free sample provided by Galaxy Nutritional Foods, Inc. The views and opinions expressed herein are strictly my own and do not necessarily reflect that of others.

11 Responses to “Restaurant-Style “Crab” Rangoon with Sweet and Sour Sauce”

  1. Brenda September 21, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    Finally, a Vegan “crab” Rangoon!! Yeah!!

  2. Lu September 22, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    I’m not a huge cream-cheese fan, but I am a very big fan of Match crab and other varieties! I’ve made crab cakes using it, and it’s just delicious, but hard to find. Thanks for the link and the recipe!

    • megmeister September 22, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

      I agree about the Match crab! I love it, and their premade crab cakes are delicious too. Maybe if we’re lucky the Whole Foods around here will get it back in stock!

  3. Pamela September 22, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    LOVE Galaxy Nutritional Foods Cream Cheese! It’s so good! I made a vegan cheesecake with it that non-vegan friends and family loved as much as I did. And this recipe looks fantastic! Thanks for posting it and for letting others know about the cream cheese!

    • megmeister September 22, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

      YUM! So glad your non-veg family and friends liked the cheesecake you made. I can’t say I’m surprised though because vegan food rocks! =D

      Thank you for the compliment!

  4. wtfhappenedtomyreallife September 24, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    This may be the answer to my husband being able to eat rangoons! He is allergic to crab and he is lactose intolerant…So this, if tastes as good as you say and as good as it looks, would be the answer!! Yay! Thanks for sharing!

    Love and light,

    Lucky Star
    http://www.victimnomore.wordpress.com

    • megmeister September 25, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

      Hey there! I hope you and your husband enjoy the “Crab” Rangoon. Let me know how it turns out! =)

  5. Lisa G September 27, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Hi! I would love to make this recipe, because I love crab rangoon, and have enjoyed other recipes using vegan cream cheese. I am wondering about the wonton wrappers, though. When I last checked the ingredients, the Nasoya brand had eggs listed in the ingredients. Were you able to find a vegan wonton wrapper, and if so, could you tell us where you found it? BTW, I love your blog!

    • megmeister September 28, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      Hello Lisa, I know what you mean with regard to some of the wonton wrappers having eggs in them. Bummer, huh? I purchased my wrappers from an Asian grocery store — they tend to have more than one kind so you have options to choose from.

      So glad you like my blog, thank you!!!

  6. TarynAshley January 20, 2012 at 6:58 am #

    So, I’m new at this…. I didn’t eat meat from ages 9 to 15, but I think back then it was more of a control thing. Something my parents couldn’t make me do was eat meat if I didn’t want to. Now that I am older I hav been trying to research and get back into this lifestyle. Not an easy transition, but these recipies are so awesome. Thanks to you an your recipies I have been animal free for 6 whole days!!! Thank you and keep the recipies coming!!!

    • megmeister January 20, 2012 at 8:26 am #

      Hello Taryn, I am so glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed my recipes, and WOW, meat-free for 6 days!!! Comments like these totally make this blog worthwhile. And know, too, that the longer you go without meat, the easier it gets (at least that was the case for me). You’ll start to notice all these positive changes in your body and it feels great. Don’t hesitate to email me if you have any questions. =) veganfoodaddict@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 733 other followers

