Moist Coconut Peanut Butter Muffins

5 Jun

I absolutely love peanut butter. I attribute this love to my late grandfather who loved it as well. He and my grandmother always had a magnet on their fridge that said, “Reach for the peanut butter instead!” Peanut butter contains calcium, fiber, iron, potassium, protein and vitamin E. Peanut butter is delicious on so many things such as apples, french toast, pancakes, waffles, noodles, etc. The combination, however, of coconut and peanut butter, for me, is a match made in heaven. These muffins are perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Moist Coconut Peanut Butter Muffins

Peanut Butter Coconut Muffins
Yields 12 muffins

1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup peanut butter
1-1/2 cups coconut milk
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons coconut oil (canola or peanut oil may also be used)

Preheat oven to 400º F. Grease muffin pan or line with baking cups.

In a medium bowl mix together flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In a separate large bowl, mix together peanut butter, sugar, coconut milk and oil until thoroughly combined. Gradually add flour mixture, and mix just until moistened. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Read more about the health benefits of peanut butter here.

7 Responses to “Moist Coconut Peanut Butter Muffins”

  1. Laviyah June 5, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    I am volunteering to become a test subject for your blog. It’s a tough job, but I know someone has got to do it!

  2. megmeister June 7, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Deal! 😉

  3. Nessie Monster June 7, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    I made these yesterday. They’re really good, but not as muffiny as I like.

    I also used a whole 14 fl. oz. (414 mL) can of coconut milk, which was a smidge more than 1½ cups.

    And I ended up with 15 muffins instead of 12.

    • megmeister June 8, 2011 at 8:11 am #

      Thank you for your feedback, Nessie. I’m glad you liked the muffins!

  4. Harriet Cross June 19, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    I made these this afternoon. They are delicious. Thanks for the recipe. I’m tempted to include some chocolate chips next time round to complete the triple whammy of things I really like!

    • megmeister June 19, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      Hello Harriet, I’m so glad you liked the muffins! Adding chocolate chips sounds AMAZING!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coconut Peanut Butter Granola | Vegan Food Addict - April 14, 2013

    […] for coconut and peanut butter is no secret since I’ve used them together before in these Moist Coconut Peanut Butter Muffins. Coupling the two ingredients creates a magical combination of deliciousness. This easy recipe for […]

Leave a Reply

