Peeling Garlic: Did You Know?

19 Oct

Garlic is one of those foods that can be difficult to peel.

There have been times in the past where I’ve fidgeted with a clove of garlic for quite some time, trying to grasp and remove the peel with my nails. The peel tends to tear and break off, and rarely ever comes off in one piece. I can only imagine how annoying this must be for those whom have short nails!

Luckily there is an easier way. Place a clove of garlic on a flat surface. Position the flat edge of a knife blade parallel to your counter top (see photo at right). Apply pressure to the blade, carefully smashing the garlic just enough so that the peel breaks. You can then easily remove the peel and discard. Not to mention your fingers won’t smell as much like garlic!

Peeling garlic by smashing with a knife

2 Responses to “Peeling Garlic: Did You Know?”

  1. Lu October 20, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I like that tip, and that’s the way I peel garlic because I usually only use one clove at a time. But if I had more to peel, I’d love to try this: http://www.saveur.com/article/Kitchen/video-How-to-Peel-a-Head-of-Garlic-in-Less-Than-10-Seconds . It’s amazing and looks like fun!

    • megmeister October 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      Ooh cool! I’ve never heard about doing that — what a great tip. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

