An Update and Juice Detox

5 Dec

Hello friends,

First of all I would like to apologize for not posting as often. With the holidays here and me being on a juice detox for the past week, it has been difficult to have the ability/time to post new recipes and tips. Please know, however, that you are on my mind often and after the holidays I will try to keep on top of things!

I recently watched a documentary called Fat Sick & Nearly Dead and it motivated me to do a juice detox*. While I’m not doing a 60-day detox as was done in the documentary, I am currently on day 5 of a 5-7 day detox. I’ve been asked by friends and colleagues, “How do you do that?” Well, I consume nothing but juice from fruits and vegetables, and water for a few days. In the process, my body gets rid of toxins that it has been harboring (hence the 2nd and 3rd days giving me headaches and a grumpy stomach) and I feel better in the process. While days 2 and 3 were difficult, day 1 was easy and days 4 and 5 have been even better. I’ve found that I have more energy and I feel great. I haven’t yet decided how long I want to do it for as I’m running out of produce. Though I must say, I’ve been feeling pretty darn good!

It is said that most nutrients in fruits and vegetables are in their juice, which just so happens to be much easier to digest than solid food. So when juicing, it is important to drink a variety of produce. Below is a recipe my sister and I created that we love. I hope you’ll enjoy it too!

Strawberry Melon Juice
Yields approximately 4-5 cups

1/2 medium-size cantaloupe (about 6 inches in diameter)
1/4 medium-size watermelon (about 12 inches long)
1 (16-ounce) package strawberries

Prepare the fruit by scooping out the cantaloupe seeds and discarding. Next, cut away the rind from both the cantaloupe and watermelon and discard. Rinse strawberries and discard their green, leafy tops. Place each fruit individually into your juicer and process.

Have you ever done a juice detox? What did you think?

*Should you decide to do a juice detox, I highly recommend thoroughly researching it and possibly even consulting a health professional. It is vital that you obtain a variety of nutrients in order to remain healthy.

Leave a Reply

