Reboot Your Life Detox: Days 6-10

18 Jan

Reboot Your Life Detox: Days 6-10

Here it is, my second 5 days on The Classic Reboot detox. I still can’t believe this is actually a DETOX. I guess it makes sense though, considering I’m not consuming alcohol or refined foods to name a couple. If you are one of those people who don’t find the regular old juice detox appealing, this program may be for you as it allows you solid food. It is a nice middle ground between a juice detox and eating your typical American meal, and it allows for a little sea salt and cold-pressed, unrefined oils.

Below is a slideshow of some of the meals I had this week, along with a rundown of my second 5 days on the detox.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Day 6:

Breakfast: Apple/Beet/Carrot/Kale Juice
Lunch: Carrot and Sweet Potato “Fries” and Vegetable Soup
Dinner: Refreshing Cucumber Salad and Baked Zucchini with Tomatoes and Herbs

I should have made something in addition to the breakfast juice, and would have, had I followed the detox menu as recommended, but I didn’t, so I was hungry today! Luckily, however, I had some apple chips (just dehydrated apple slices and cinnamon) in my desk, which tied me over until lunch, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The Baked Zucchini with Tomatoes and Herbs, which I had for dinner, tasted especially delicious to me. Fresh basil and sea salt really make the other ingredients pop with flavor. Not to mention, the dish has leeks in it. Love it!

Maybe it’s just my imagination but I feel as though my taste buds are changing. I’m able to notice more of the natural flavor of these foods and appreciate how they mesh together. I hate to say it though, but I still love salt.

Day 7:

Breakfast: Maple & Cinnamon Baked Pear and Sunset Blend Juice
Lunch: Refreshing Cucumber Salad and Vegetable Soup
Dinner: Salad and Leftover Baked Zucchini with Tomatoes & Herbs

Today is leftover day with the exception of breakfast. The baked pear is a clever idea as you remove the core, filling the pear with raisins, ground cinnamon, pure maple syrup and water, then bake it in the oven until tender. Pretty tasty, and sweet enough so that you don’t even need to add sugar. Nuts are not a part of this detox, though, should I have been eating my regular food, I probably would have added some roasted pecans. Yum!

Day 8:

Breakfast: Tasty Tart Treat and Mexican-Style Jugo
Lunch: Guacamole & Salsa Dip for Veggies
Dinner: Baked Zucchini with Tomatoes & Herbs and Garam Masala Spiced Collard Greens

For breakfast, I modified the recipes slightly. I’m not a grapefruit fan and didn’t have kiwi so I mixed together cherries, mango, orange, pineapple and fresh mint. Sweet and refreshing! I’m getting use to this raw food thing and I must say that I really don’t mind it. Natural sugars in fruit are becoming sweeter to my taste buds so that when I eat anything with agave, it’s almost too sweet.

I wasn’t a fan of the Mexican-Style Jugo though as it had too much lime. However, with the addition of a couple green apples, the flavor was much more appealing. Lunch was delicious, though the guacamole also called for too much lime — I used 2 teaspoons instead of 2 tablespoons. The salsa was super fresh and was tasty when served with fresh veggies. I found myself wanting tortilla chips, but I was strong and resisted the urge to eat any. Dinner was also good although the Collard Greens had too much salt (my fault). Other than that, they were delicious! I really liked them with garam masala and thought it was a nice touch. I’ll likely make this recipe again and try it with swiss chard and LESS salt!

Day 9:

Breakfast: Apple-Beet-Carrot Juice
Lunch: Spinach, Broccoli, Orange & Arugula Salad with Ginger Soy Agave Dressing
Dinner: Apple, Parsnips and Sweet Potatoes and Leftover Garam Masala Spiced Collard Greens

Breakfast was simple today — just juice! Apple, beet and carrot is always a good default juice to enjoy. Warning though…beet juice stains and will make your mouth a magenta color! The salad for lunch was refreshing and had leftover Hijiki seaweed on top, which gave it more nutritional value. For dinner though, the Apple, Parsnips and Sweet Potatoes really didn’t have a lot of flavor in my opinion. Sure, the dish was naturally on the sweet side because of the apples and sweet potato, but I felt it could’ve used an additional seasoning or even a sprinkle of salt (maybe that’s just my love of salt). Regardless, I ate some of them with the leftover, overly-salty, Garam Masala Spiced Collard Greens from the night before which balanced out the sweet and savory flavors.

Day 10:

Breakfast: Great Green Fruit Blend Smoothie and Sweet N Tart Citrus Juice
Lunch: Veggies with Salsa
Dinner: Sweet Potato & Bok Choy Soup

It’s weird, today I really haven’t had much of an appetite. Maybe it’s the weather, or simply because this detox is feeding me plenty, but I really didn’t feel like eating that much.

The Sweet N Tart Citrus Juice was WAYYYYYYY too tart! The recipe originally called for grapefruit, which I didn’t use as I’m not a fan. Had I done so, the juice probably would have been even more tart. With a name like Sweet N Tart Citrus Juice, I should’ve known. I guess I was expecting a little more “sweet” to balance it out. However, with the addition of a little agave, it became more palatable though it still had a bit of a kick at the end. The Great Green Fruit Blend Smoothie, however was pretty good. Though it looked a little gross, it had good flavor and was filling. I ate the leftover Salsa with raw veggies (broccoli, cauliflower and snow peas) for lunch. Just opening the salsa made me hungry as the aroma of fresh tomato, onion and cilantro filled the air. Finally, for dinner was the Sweet Potato & Bok Choy Soup — lightly-flavored but at the same time showcasing multiple flavors.

NOTE: Vegan Food Addict is in no way affiliated with Reboot Your Life. The views and opinions expressed herein are strictly my own and do not necessarily reflect that of others.

Leave a Reply

