Whole Wheat Carrot Zucchini Muffins

6 May

What’s not to love about carrots and zucchini mixed together in a healthy, whole wheat muffin? Carrots and zucchini are excellent vegetables to bake and cook with due to their versatility. Blending well in either sweet or savory dishes, these vegetables help create deliciously moist muffins, which offer a variety of nutritional benefits. Carrots are a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Potassium, and Vitamins A, C and K, and are also a good source of Folate, Manganese, Niacin, Thiamin and Vitamin B6 (source). These root vegetables are perhaps best known for their beta-Carotene, a cartenoid that is said to have cancer and age-fighting properties, in addition to supporting female reproductive health (source). Zucchini, however, is not without its health benefits either; check them out here in a previous post.

Whole Wheat Carrot Zucchini Muffins

Whole Wheat Carrot Zucchini Muffins

1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup regular unsweetened almond milk
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 cup shredded carrot
1/2 cup shredded zucchini

Preheat oven to 400º F. Grease muffin pan or line with aluminum foil / silicone baking cups.

In a medium bowl mix together flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add almond milk and vegetable oil, mixing just until combined. Add carrot and zucchini and mix.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each approximately 3/4 full. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Whole Wheat Carrot Zucchini Muffins

27 Responses to “Whole Wheat Carrot Zucchini Muffins”

  1. Angela Nunez May 7, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    These were so very easy to make! I had all the ingredients on hand except the almond milk, so I used Unsweetened Coconut Milk (Silk) because my husband can’t have nuts. I added a couple drops of almond extract to get the almond flavor in there though. Another change I made was to use Raw Sugar. Absolutely YUMMY! Plan on making double batch the next go around and see how they freeze.

    • megmeister May 7, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      Hi Angela! Excellent, thank you for the compliment! Something else I thought of too is to add raisins, or add maple syrup in place of the sugar. I think both could be really good.

  2. Danielle July 15, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Hi, I substituted coconut milk for the almond milk, and substituted 1/4 cup of applesauce for 1/4 of the 1/2 cup of sugar and omitted the oil (b/c of the applesauce) and my muffins “sank” in the middle and stuck to the paper muffin cups. Any idea what might have gone wrong?

    • Danielle July 15, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      Oh, also I only used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose flour.

      • Angela Nunez July 16, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

        Sorry Danielle, I missed the part about the flour sub. You’re most likely needing to add more of either of the flours. Still bloom before adding regular flour. It will give you a better “feel” for how much “AP Flour” to use. Whole grains need more moisture. That’s why some “100% Whole Grain” breads are more dense than if you were to add some regular “AP Flour”

    • megmeister July 16, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      Hello Danielle, the milk and flour substitutions shouldn’t affect the muffins, so I’m thinking it might have been the applesauce. Sometimes if the ratio of wet to dry ingredients is off, the muffins will sink in the center. If you adjust the amount of flour, the muffins should be okay.

      Sounds like they were tasty though with the substitutions you made!

    • Angela Nunez July 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      The amount of sugar might also be a factor. It is needed for things to “Grab” onto each other and make them rise properly. Try to up the sugar a bit. Also, whole grain flours tend to require more moisture. When making yeast or rise bread, I let the whole grain flour “bloom” before adding regular flour to the recipe. It may help out in this case as well. Give it a shot. Also, are you using paper or foil cups. If you’re trying to eat the muffins straight from the oven, the paper will stick to the muffin. Let them cool about 3-5 min and then eat them. They will still be warm and yummy. If you’re using foil and they’re still sticking, you might try and spritz them with a tiny touch of cooking spray before adding the batter. Hope this helps.

      • megmeister July 16, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

        Thanks for the info, Angela!

      • Danielle July 17, 2012 at 9:56 am #

        Thanks a lot, Angela! I think I will try adding more wheat flour than AP flour next time and see if that helps. I’m trying to get away from added sugars (that’s why I cut the sugar in half), and I used foil cups that had paper liners. I did notice the next day when I took a muffin out of the cup it only really stuck to the bottom. The muffin tasted great, but had a horrible “sponge” texture to it. I’m hoping the flour change next time will make all the difference. I will also try letting it “bloom” next time. =) Thanks a bunch!

      • Angela Nunez July 18, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

        Danielle, glad I could help. I’ve been baking most of my 50+ yrs. and sometimes an extra pair of ears/eyes can help out. I’ve been trying to experiment with agave nector for a sweetener and have found it to be a REALLY good sub for sweet stuff. Again, you’ll be “playing” with the moisture factor. Just add a bit more flour, bloom it a bit and see if this well help you out. According to what I’ve read, the agave is much better for our system than regular processed sugars. Plus, being vegan — HONEY IS A NO-NO. Happy Baking!

  3. Sara Richardson July 18, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    I followed the recipe with 2 changes: added a spoonful of ground flax and a spoonful of apple cider vinegar (both used to replace eggs commonly, so I just throw it in every baking recipe), AND I added a handful of pre-soaked raisins. Came out wonderfully.

    • megmeister July 19, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      Sounds delicious, Sara!

      • Lorelei July 24, 2012 at 11:10 am #

        Angela, I thought agave was a good sub too, but have learned this year it is not….do a little more research. It is something to avoid. I just mixed these muffins up with my three and four year olds….smeilling good!

  4. Linda September 24, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    Hi there !
    I tried the muffin recipe which smells absolutely delicious…as soon as they cool down we will indulge. Would you have an idea of the calories ?? Linda

    • megmeister September 25, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      Hi Linda! Unfortunately I do not know how many calories are in these muffins. All I know is that they are healthier than regular muffins! I hope you enjoyed them.

      • Angela September 25, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

        Linda,
        You can “GOOGLE” Calorie Counter and it will bring up MANY sites that will assist you in figuring out the counts. I’ve done it tons of times and they are all pretty accurate.

  5. SAMANTHA May 12, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    These look delicious! Def. gotta try!!!

    • megmeister May 13, 2013 at 9:08 am #

      Thanks Samantha! Let me know what you think.

  6. Marit September 7, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

    Glad I found this on Pinterest! I have everything on hand so going to make them on this rainy Saturday afternoon.

  7. Martha October 14, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    I made a double batch of these last night. I swapped out 1/2 cup of the whole wheat flour for regular old white in the hopes I wouldn’t scare the kids off. I also used vanilla rice milk since that’s what i had. They are delicious! My kids gobbled them up and asked for more “cake”. Thanks a bunch for sharing the recipe.

    • megmeister October 14, 2013 at 10:18 am #

      Excellent! So glad you and your kids enjoyed the “cake” muffins. Thank you for letting me know, Martha!

  8. Gloria December 30, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Could I replace some of the flour with quick cooking oats?

    • megmeister December 30, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

      I haven’t tried this personally but if it were me, I would substitute maybe 1/4 cup of the flour with oats. So this would mean using 1-1/4 cups flour and 1/4 cup oats. If that works, you might even be able to use 1/2 cup oats. If you try it out, let me know!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Zucchini muffins and a little bit of Spain | obentoadventure - August 15, 2012

    […] Last but most definitely not the least are these wholewheat zucchini (courgette) and carrot muffins. As per Vegan Food Addict’s recipe. Here is the link : https://veganfoodaddict.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/whole-wheat-carrot-zucchini-muffins/ […]

  2. Carrot Cake Smoothie | Vegan Food Addict - May 19, 2014

    […] Cake happens to be one of my favorite desserts. With its sweet flavor and moist, soft texture, I find myself craving it…and often. When I want cake but not the guilt, I typically choose something like carrot cake; this way I am getting a serving of vegetables. One medium-size carrot contains approximately 2.9g sugar, which is a little over 1/2 teaspoon (source). With their low glycemic index, carrots are excellent for those who are watching their blood sugar levels. For more information on the health benefits of carrots, check out my Whole Wheat Carrot Zucchini Muffins post. […]

  3. Tikil Gomen (Ethiopian Cabbage and Potatoes) | Vegan Food Addict - December 20, 2014

    […] A star ingredient, cabbage, is a cruciferous vegetable that is a good source of dietary fiber, folate, and vitamins B6, C and K (source). Check out the benefits of potatoes and carrots. […]

Leave a Reply

