21-Day Vegan Kickstart: Days 8-14

14 Jan

One of the things I have really enjoyed during the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart program is the variety of ethnic recipes that are provided…Chinese, Ethiopian, Indian, Italian, Jamaican and Moroccan to name a few. I can see myself making some of these recipes after I’m done with the program.

Normally during programs like this, I tend to feel like the food tastes like cardboard, and this is likely due to the fact that I normally eat food that is laden with salt and sugar. It is always good to give new, more natural foods a try as they are much better for you, and with time they will taste better, with their natural flavors providing all the taste you need. The 21-Day Vegan Kickstart program uses very little salt, oil and sugar. Many are lightly flavored and filling, and you never have to worry about going hungry.

After the second week on this program, my total weight lost is still 4 pounds. I’d like to say that I have lost more, but I believe I’ve been gaining muscle due to exercising. Regardless, it is still exciting to see results!

Below is the summary of my next seven days of the program:

Day 8:

Breakfast: Apricot Oatmeal
Lunch: Bacon, Sprout, and Tomato Sandwich
Dinner: Cuban Black Bean and Potato Soup with steamed or fresh spinach

Apricot Oatmeal Bacon, Sprout and Tomato Sandwich Cuban Black Bean and Potato Soup

I enjoyed breakfast today, which was Apricot Oatmeal. The recipe called for 4-6 apricots but I couldn’t help myself, I added 10! I definitely liked this much more than the Green Apple Oatmeal from last week as I’m not a huge fan of sour foods. My lunch of a Bacon, Sprout and Tomato Sandwich was also very good. I love tempeh bacon and I missed my Vegenaise, and I got to enjoy both!

Not hungry for a snack, I went onto dinner which was Cuban Black Bean and Potato Soup with spinach. It sounded like a good recipe, though in my opinion it didn’t have much flavor. Perhaps this is because my body is still craving salt?

Day 9:

Breakfast: Cereal with plant milk
Lunch: Salad bar at a restaurant or at home
Dinner: Portobello Fajitas
Dessert: Gingered Melon

Rip's Big Bowl Original Cereal DIY Lunch Salad Gingered Melon

For my cereal this morning I had Rip’s Big Bowl which is a new cereal being sold under the Engine 2 diet. The cereal had all kinds of grains in addition to raisins, which I liked. The cereal in general though is pretty bland. I topped my cereal off with unsweetened vanilla almond/coconut milk. For lunch, I made a salad with red leaf lettuce, shelled edamame, chopped tomatoes, fresh cracked black pepper and some cashew-based miso dressing. Healthy, light and tasty.

I skipped my snack again today, and for dinner rather than having the recommended Pita Pizzas with another salad, I ate a couple leftover Portobello Fajitas from day 6. For dessert I had some Gingered Melon. A clever dish of cantaloupe and crystallized ginger, my sweet tooth was satisfied! I really enjoyed it and the nice little kick the ginger provided.

Day 10:

Breakfast: Fruit Salad and whole-grain toast with apple butter
Lunch: DIY veggie burger
Dinner: Penne al Forno and Collards with Almonds

Gardein Beefless Burgers Penne al Forno Collards with Almonds

Going the easy route for breakfast, I thawed some mixed frozen fruit (peaches, mangoes, strawberries and grapes) and threw in some fresh cantaloupe. I also enjoyed two pieces of wheat toast with apple butter sandwiched in between. For lunch I had a veggie burger. I chose Gardein for my burger, and with keeping in the boundaries of this kickstart program, I added no salt or cheese, but topped it with lettuce, ketchup and mustard. Just what I’ve been missing!

As a snack I finished off the Hummus from day 4 with some broccoli and carrots. Dinner was Penne al Forno and Collards with Almonds. The penne had a very light flavor but thanks to the kalamata olives, it had a nice boost of flavor every few bites. The collards were surprisingly good. They were seasoned with rice vinegar and fresh garlic. When paired with the penne, I felt they meshed well together. I finished off the Gingered Melon for dessert, which was leftover from yesterday.

Day 11:

Breakfast: Cereal with plant milk and a banana
Lunch: Leftover Penne al Forno
Dinner: Leftover Israeli Couscous with Carrots, Peas, and Red Wine Vinegar

Rip's Big Bowl Banana Walnut Cereal

Today I had a bowl of the Engine 2 diet cereal, but this one was Banana Walnut. I sweetened it up with some fresh sliced bananas. I definitely recommend adding fruit of your choice as this cereal could use more sweetness. For lunch was leftover penne. The brown rice pasta is very good, not too wheaty, though the dish itself was a bit dry after sitting in the fridge overnight so I added some tomato sauce to moisten it up a bit.

Skipping the snack of grapes today, I went on to have more of my leftover Israeli Couscous rather than the suggested Sweet Potato Lentil Chili for dinner. Just using up the food I already have!

Day 12:

Breakfast: Mango Sassy or Sheera
Lunch: Tofu Palak “Paneer” with Herb Roti
Snack/Dessert: Carrot Halwa
Dinner:
 Leftover Penne al Forno and Israeli Couscous with Carrots, Peas, and Red Wine Vinegar

Tofu Palak "Paneer" Herb Roti

I was super excited for today’s meals as I love Indian food. The Mango Sassy was delicious! The addition of lime juice and maple syrup made it delectable. I wanted to try the Sheera but didn’t have time to make it. Lunch of Tofu Palak “Paneer” with Herb Roti was really good. I really enjoyed the tofu dish, with its mixture of tofu, tomatoes, spinach, yogurt and other goodies. For the roti, I didn’t have coriander leaves and honestly wasn’t feeling the mint, so I put green onion, garlic, coriander and rosemary in it. Yum!

Dinner was supposed to be Aloo Gobi (a potato and cauliflower dish) but I had just a little more leftovers to finish so I ate those instead.

Day 13:

Breakfast: Frozen Vegan Waffles
Lunch: Spinach, Beet, and Orange Salad with whole-grain bread or pita
Snack: Apple
Dinner: Jamaican Stir-Fry over long-grain brown rice

Frozen Blueberry Waffles Spinach, Beet and Orange Salad Jamaican Stir-Fry

Rather than having the recommended Vanilla French Toast and Kickstart DIY Smoothie for breakfast, I had the vegan waffles suggested for day 16’s breakfast. I had blueberry waffles and they were delicious! My belly was very happy this morning. Lunch was Spinach, Beet, and Orange Salad which was also good. I liked the mixture of flavors and the beets helped tone down the kick of the salad dressing. I didn’t, however, have any bread with it though…I should have because I was hungry shortly after.

I am making it a bad habit of eating foods other than what is recommended! Though in my defense, I am still eating foods the program recommends, and it is food that I have that I don’t want to go to waste. Instead of having edamame as a snack, I ate part of an apple that was about to go bad. I went on to have the Jamaican Stir-Fry though I opted to go without the brown rice in an effort to cut down on leftovers. Unfortunately I wasn’t a big fan of this dish, though it did have flavor and a little kick to it thanks to the curry powder. Perhaps it would have been better over the suggested brown rice?

Day 14:

Breakfast: Huevos Rancheros
Lunch: Chickpea Salad Rolls
Snack: Broccoli, Carrots and Cauliflower
Dinner: Kickstart DIY: Beans, greens, and grains

Huevos Rancheros Chickpea Salad Roll DIY Dinner Soup

The Huevos Rancheros this morning were an exciting start to my day. I like everything put together, though I ate it on soft tostadas rather than baking them to crisp them up. Because of this, I had to eat breakfast with a spoon because the juices from the salsa soaked through the tostadas. They were good though! I was also supposed to have Garlic Hashbrowns with Kale today, however, the tostadas filled me up. Lunch today was Chickpea Salad Rolls. I ate my salad rolled up in a whole wheat tortilla. The mixture of flavors and textures in this dish were refreshing, and I like the sweetness the apple provided.

As a snack today, rather than having fruit, I ate some broccoli, carrots and cauliflower. For dinner was another do-it-yourself meal so I made soup with kale, carrots and lentils. Another satisfying soup on a cold winter’s day.

Stay tuned for Days 15-21 of the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart program!

NOTE: Vegan Food Addict is in no way affiliated with PCRM. The views and opinions expressed herein are strictly my own and do not necessarily reflect that of others.

2 Responses to “21-Day Vegan Kickstart: Days 8-14”

  1. Food Stories (@FoodStoriesBlog) January 17, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    Looks like another great week🙂

Leave a Reply

