21-Day Vegan Kickstart: Days 15-21

21 Jan

After concluding my last seven days of the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart program, I’m feeling wonderful. Normally during programs like this, I lose my appetite because my body craves oil, salt, sugar, and any other item I’m not consuming that I normally would. With the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart, however, I’ve felt very good throughout most of the program and have enjoyed most of the food with hardly any loss of appetite. Not only do I feel lighter, I don’t feel bloated and am fitting into my clothes better. I am also energetic and have lost a grand total of 6 pounds. Not bad!

One final aspect of the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart that I want to praise before outlining my last seven days is that this program allows you to eat out at restaurants. There were three different opportunities (Mexican, Chinese and Italian) during the program, only one of which I took advantage of. When I did, however, it was very nice to treat myself and I enjoyed taking a break from preparing food for a night. PCRM shows that you can still eat healthy while eating out by providing tips on what foods to select…great real life training on healthy food consumption!

And now onto the summary of my last seven days of the program:

Day 15:

Breakfast: Leftover Tofu Breakfast Scramble
Lunch: Leftover Chickpea Salad Rolls
Dinner: Tempeh Sloppy Joes and Summer Pasta and Bean Salad with Fresh Tomatoes and Basil

Tempeh Sloppy Joes Summer Pasta and Bean Salad with Fresh Tomatoes and Basil

For breakfast this morning I enjoyed leftover tofu breakfast scramble from day 7. Yes, that was a while ago but I just couldn’t bear to part with my beloved scramble so I froze it until I had the opportunity to eat it. After my satisfying breakfast, I enjoyed the other Chickpea Salad Roll from day 14.

Skipping my snack once again, I had a Tempeh Sloppy Joe and Summer Pasta and Bean Salad for dinner. The sloppy joe was delicious! I really enjoyed the flavor and the tempeh provided a nice texture. The pasta and bean salad was also very good with the balsamic vinegar and fresh basil being the prominent flavors. I also can’t deny the fact that I was happy I was allowed a little salt and pepper. Yum! It had me wishing for summer.

Day 16:

Breakfast: Vanilla French Toast and Garlic Hashbrowns with Kale
Lunch: Vegan cup of soup or leftover Tempeh Sloppy Joes
Dinner: Savory French Lentils and Almost Instant Brown Rice
Dessert: Mango Lime Sorbet or Baked Cardamom Pears

Vanilla French Toast Garlic Hashbrowns With Kale Savory French Lentils and Almost Instant Brown Rice

Since I ate frozen waffles for breakfast on day 13, I enjoyed the Vanilla French Toast and Garlic Hashbrowns with Kale today. YUM. The french toast recipe calls for cinnamon and nutmeg, in addition to vanilla soymilk (I use almond) and agave nectar, all mixed up with silken tofu. Just enough sweetness to keep you coming back for more, and with just a touch of maple syrup, you won’t realize you are eating something healthy! The hashbrowns were also very good. I would definitely make them again. For lunch I enjoyed a leftover Sloppy Joe from last night’s dinner.

So you could probably tell by now I’m not one for snacking, so in typical fashion, I skipped the suggested snack of Mali Chips today, though they did sound good. For dinner I had some Savory French Lentils and Brown Rice. Both ended up being too dry so I added some extra liquid. The lentils smelled delicious while cooking and the dish itself was alright. I think it would have been nice with some type of dressing or salt (yeah, I said it). To top it all off, I enjoyed some Mango Lime Sorbet for dessert. Very good! The 1/2 cup agave nectar the recipe called for seemed like a bit much, but in the end it wasn’t. It balanced out the sourness of the lime quite well without totally masking it.

Day 17:

Breakfast: Cornmeal Porridge and a Clementine
Lunch: Veggie Burger
Dinner: Mixed Vegetable Soup with White Beans and Orzo

Cornmeal Porridge Mixed Vegetable Soup

Today I had Cornmeal Porridge and a Clementine for breakfast. I’ve never had cornmeal porridge before, but to me it was very similar to the cream of rice/wheat I grew up eating. Oh the nostalgia! I chose to sweeten it with a little maple syrup as the recipe offered, and was very pleased with the taste. I would definitely eat this again. Lunch today was supposed to be Chinese food at a restaurant, however, due to my ongoing effort to save money, I enjoyed a leftover Gardein burger instead. Again, with no added seasoning or vegan cheese.

Yet another change for dinner tonight which was supposed to be Pumpkin and Tomato Soup with Steamed Eggplant with Garlic over Brown Rice. I couldn’t find a fresh pumpkin and I am not a fan of eggplant, SO, instead I prepared a soup with tomatoes, broccoli, carrots and onion, in addition to canellini beans and whole wheat orzo.

Day 18:

Breakfast: Leftover Vanilla French Toast
Lunch: Leftover Tofu Palak “Paneer” and Herb Roti
Snack: Oatmeal Banana Bites
Dinner: Red Curry Chickpea and Sweet Potato Soup with steamed spinach

Red Curry Chickpea and Sweet Potato Soup

I was supposed to have Steel Cut Oats this morning but I wanted to eat the rest of my leftover Vanilla French Toast from day 16. I also had leftovers for lunch which were Tofu Palak “Paneer” and Herb Roti from day 12.

For a snack I made more Oatmeal Banana Bites (recipe from day 1) to tie me over. I still really enjoy these even though I do like a little more sweetness, but I’m all about finding a natural sweetener like bananas. For dinner was a unique soup that had red curry paste (I vouched for the orange paste to soften the kick a little) with chickpeas and sweet potatoes. It had a nice kick to it which surprisingly wasn’t too much for me. I don’t like a lot of spiciness, but if you do, I recommend this recipe. I liked the addition of spinach to the soup as well.

Day 19:

Breakfast: Strawberry Banana Smoothie
Lunch: Chickpea Sensation Patties with Balsamic Maple Sauce
Snack/Dessert: Maple Banana Muffins or banana
Dinner: Kickstart Dining Out: Italian

Chickpea Sensation Patties with Balsamic Maple Sauce Maple Banana Muffins

For my smoothie this morning I used a banana and some frozen strawberries along with unsweetened vanilla almond milk. A great start to my morning! The Chickpea Sensation Patties with Balsamic Maple Sauce for lunch were very good. With a name like that, how can they not be? The patties had a nice savory mixture of flavors, and the sauce added another couple dimensions. I almost felt like I was eating a veggie burger of sorts with a fork, but with a fancy sauce. Yum! I’ll be looking forward to eating these leftovers on another day.

I couldn’t pass up the Maple Banana Muffins for a snack/dessert because they sounded so good, and luckily, they did not disappoint. They are oil-free and use whole wheat and oat flours. They smell delicious and the banana and maple syrup provide all the sweetness you need, and the added cinnamon and nutmeg make these muffins that much more delicious. Definitely a keeper! For dinner tonight I actually dined out as the program suggested. I enjoyed some wide rice noodles with white beans, mushrooms, greens and basil, sauteed in a white wine marinara sauce. Very tasty!

Day 20:

Breakfast: Breakfast Burrito
Lunch: “Bacon,” Lettuce, and Tomato Sandwich
Dinner: Vegetable Lo Mein with Mixed Greens with Miso Dressing

Breakfast Burrito Vegetable Lo Mein Mixed Greens With Miso Dressing

Breakfast this morning was a couple of small breakfast burritos in which I added a little soysage along with potatoes, red onion and spinach. Though the program recommended a basic tofu scramble with salsa, I honestly wasn’t feeling it this morning and didn’t have any salsa on hand. Lunch was also very tasty: a “Bacon”, Lettuce and Tomato Sandwich. The program called for sprouts but the sprouts I had went bad so I used lettuce instead.

Dinner was Vegetable Lo Mein with Mixed Greens with Miso Dressing. The Lo Mein was very good and had tofu, red bell pepper, broccoli and celery, along with udon noodles, all bathed in a lovely savory sauce. The greens (mixed salad greens, cabbage, carrots and cucumber) were also good and the dressing had a nice kick thanks to the rice vinegar.

Day 21:

Breakfast: Spiced Pumpkin Oatmeal
Lunch: Leftover Vegetable Lo Mein
Dinner: Chickpea Sensation Patties with Balsamic Maple Sauce with Cran-Apple Quinoa
Dessert: Apple Swirl Loaf

Apple Swirl Loaf

Spiced Pumpkin Oatmeal is pretty darn good. It’s a creative dish with pureed pumpkin, dried cranberries and raisins, seasoned with cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. The program suggested I have soysage with it but since I had some for yesterday’s breakfast, I decided not to have it today. Lunch was leftover Vegetable Lo Mein from last night. Just as good leftover.

Dinner tonight was supposed to be a Black Bean Chipotle Burger with Cran-Apple Quinoa but I still had leftover Chickpea Sensation Patties from day 19 to eat. I did, however, make some Cran-Apple Quinoa because I was curious about how it would taste, and it was actually pretty good. I used a homemade orange apple cider along with sunflower seeds because I did not have pistachios. I like the combination of sweet and salty and the dried cranberries gives this dish an extra punch. Finally, not able to pass up such a delicious-sounding dessert, I enjoyed a slice of the Apple Swirl Loaf after dinner. It tastes wholesome but delicious at the same time. The apple swirls are the best and have a lovely texture. A keeper!

NOTE: Vegan Food Addict is in no way affiliated with PCRM. The views and opinions expressed herein are strictly my own and do not necessarily reflect that of others.

4 Responses to “21-Day Vegan Kickstart: Days 15-21”

  1. Angela Nunez January 21, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    I would love to have the recipe for Maple Banana Muffins except for one thing, actually more than one thing. I can not eat bananas and the last time I made a sub for banana with applesauce in a bread it turned out SO WRONG on so many levels. Any ideas? Also, Thanks in advance for the muffin recipe.

    • megmeister January 23, 2013 at 10:22 am #

      Hey Angela, here is the recipe for the muffins: http://www.pcrm.org/kickstartHome/mealplan/meal_plan.cfm#QQQ
      I’m surprised the applesauce didn’t work out. Perhaps it was just a fluke? Maybe you could use silken tofu instead, or peanut butter as long as you like the taste. Otherwise, I don’t see why you can’t just make regular maple muffins. That sounds good!

      • Angela Nunez January 25, 2013 at 4:40 am #

        Hey Meg! Thank you so much for the hints. Always got silken tofu in the ‘frig, so I’m gonna try it and use a bit of flavoring to ‘bump’ the flavor i’d be losing by omiting the banana.

        Also, Just a hint for the oatmeal or any other hot cereal — CROCK POT!!! I’ve been doing it for years. Just put everything into a well greased crock and add all the goodies. Turn it on low and you’ll wake up to a very yummy breakfast with no waiting. Just grab your bowl, splash on your coconut milk (makes it taste like an oatmeal cookie!) and eat.

      • megmeister January 28, 2013 at 7:58 am #

        No problem! I hope the tofu works for you.

        Believe it or not, I do not own a crock pot. I have no room for all the other kitchen appliances/dishes I have! Horrible, I know. Someday though. =) Thank you for the tip! And the oatmeal cookie thing sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

