Oatmeal Banana Breakfast Cookies

8 Oct

Oatmeal is a breakfast staple in many households throughout the country. Often enhanced with brown sugar and various other sweeteners, prepackaged oatmeal can contain a large amount of sugar, rendering it less healthy than intended. One such example is that of a popular fast food chain who’s oatmeal contains 32g sugar!

Inspired by a recipe I enjoyed on one of my many detoxes, these Oatmeal Banana Breakfast Cookies are an excellent way to start your day. Containing natural sugars provided by fruit, these cookies are also perfect as a pre-workout energizer.

Oatmeal Banana Breakfast Cookies

Oatmeal Banana Breakfast Cookies
Yields 8-10 cookies

3 large ripe bananas, mashed
1/3 cup unsweetened peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
2-1/4 cups quick-cooking oats
1/3 cup oat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 rounded teaspoon ground cinnamon
pinch salt

Preheat oven to 350º F. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

Mix together bananas, peanut butter and applesauce until combined; set aside.

In a separate bowl, combine oats, flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Add to banana mixture and stir to combine.

Place 1/4 cup fulls of batter approximately 2 inches apart on prepared baking sheet. Bake in preheated oven for 15-17 minutes, or until a toothpick, when inserted near the center of a cookie, comes out clean.

Prefer more sweetness? Add 1-2 tablespoons pure maple syrup as well as an additional tablespoon or two of flour (as needed) and proceed with the recipe as directed.

12 Responses to “Oatmeal Banana Breakfast Cookies”

  1. Angela Nunez October 8, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    Hey Meg, I’d LOVE to make these except I’m SUPER allergic to bananas. I’m assuming the
    “sweet” comes from them. So what can I sub for the banana. I was thinking about peaches or would that be too “Weird” with the peanut butter? Help, Please!

    • megmeister October 10, 2013 at 10:25 am #

      Hmm…that is a good question. Perhaps just nix the bananas and add a little extra peanut butter? You could even add a couple dates. Not sure how peaches would go with the peanut butter but it’s worth a shot. It might be amazing!

      I need to make another batch of these so I’ll try without the banana and let you know how they turn out. =)

      • Angela Nunez October 10, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

        Yep, I think I’ll nix the peach idea and take you up on the date thing as well as maybe some dried fig. I REALLY want to make these. They’re something I can carry along for a quick energy pick-me-up.

        I’m still open for other suggestions though. If you have time, just keep ’em coming.

      • megmeister October 12, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

        Fig sounds good too!

        I made a version without bananas and it turned out very well! I used maple syrup as the sweetener. Hope you like peanut butter because it is the flavor in the forefront!

        Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies (without banana)

        1 cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)
        3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
        1/3 cup pure maple syrup
        2-1/2 cups quick-cooking oats
        1-1/2 cups oat flour
        1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
        3/4 rounded teaspoon ground cinnamon
        pinch salt

        Preheat oven to 350º F. Lightly grease a cookie sheet and set aside.

        Mix together peanut butter, applesauce and maple syrup until combined. Set aside.

        In a separate bowl, combine oats, flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Add to wet mixture and stir to combine.

        Place by 1/4 cup fulls approximately 1 inch apart on prepared cookie sheet. Bake in preheated oven for 15-17 minutes, or until a toothpick, when inserted near the center of a cookie, comes out clean.

      • Angela Nunez October 14, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

        Well, I made the revised recipe using maple syrup. OMG! They are DEFINITELY a keeper! One word description? It would be “AMAZING”! I didn’t have quite enough syrup so I added just enough agave nectar to equal 1/3 cup (Used just a little more than 1-1/2 Tblsp.) I couldn’t keep the grandkids out of them. Thank You so much for taking the time to experiment on the original recipe. It was WELL WORTH it.

      • megmeister October 15, 2013 at 8:16 am #

        Yay!!! I’m so glad to hear that, and glad I could help! I’ve got to say that I actually like these better than the original. 😉

    • April Eavers November 8, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

      pears

  2. Angela Nunez October 18, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    One thing that I didn’t mention is that I used soy butter instead of peanut butter because we have a peanut allergy in the house. We’re going to make yet another batch this coming weekend and will be adding some dried cranberries and maybe some coconut. (Hubby is a super big fan of coconut) I also plan on using agave nectar instead of the maple syrup. Bit of an exchange since the agave is a bit sweeter. If I split the batch in half, I just might add some orange extract to the cranberry batch! Hmmm. The wheels are DEFINITELY turning . . . Got me thinking now. It’s almost baking time for the holidays. This would be perfect for that! Thank You so much for helping out on this one, Meg!! It’s GREATLY APPRECIATED!! Keep up the Wonderful Work. Blessings all around!!!!!

    • megmeister October 20, 2013 at 10:10 am #

      My pleasure, Angela! And darn those allergies! Just means you’re meant to try new, exciting things. I like your idea of dried cranberries and possibly some coconut and orange extract. These could very well end up being excellent holiday “cookies.” Glad I’ve got you thinking. 😉

      Have fun and let me know how things turn out!

  3. Megan February 12, 2014 at 5:48 pm #

    These look wonderful!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oatmeal Banana Breakfast Cookies | Vegan Food Addict | Vegan,Vegan - October 8, 2013

    […] Oatmeal Banana Breakfast Cookies | Vegan Food Addict. […]

Leave a Reply

