Easy Egg-Free Mayonnaise

20 Jul

Mayonnaise (or mayo for short) is a staple in households all over the world. Said to have originated in Spain, this creamy white condiment is used in various dishes both savory and sweet (source).

In traditional mayo, the lecithin contained in egg yolks serves as not only a thickener but an emulsifier, which stabilizes the mixture, allowing it to hold its shape. In other words, when something is emulsified, it allows two naturally repelling liquids (i.e. oil and water) to stick together. So how does one go about making an egg-free mayo? The answer: use alternative sources of fat and lecithin. Oil may be used in place of the fat. With regard to lecithin, various foods such as raw cauliflower and mustard naturally contain lecithin, but perhaps the most concentrated sources are soy and sunflower lecithin. These alternatives serve as excellent stand-ins and flawlessly replace the eggs.

This super easy Egg-Free Mayonnaise is made in under a minute. The result is a light, creamy, cholesterol-free mayonnaise that looks and tastes like it came straight from the grocery store. If you’re feeling fancy, you can easily flavor your mayo with whatever you choose such as garlic or fresh herbs.

Egg-Free Mayonnaise

Easy Egg-Free Mayonnaise
Yields just over 1 cup

1/2 cup organic unsweetened soy milk
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon liquid soy lecithin*
1/2 scant teaspoon salt
1 cup organic canola oil

Using a blender with a 2-piece lid, combine first four ingredients and purée until smooth, approximately 10 seconds.

With the blender still running, carefully remove center part of lid and slowly add oil in a steady stream. Watch mixture closely and stop blender once mayonnaise becomes thick. You will know it is ready when the mixture no longer blends. This should take approximately 5-10 seconds. Be careful not to over-blend as doing so will result in a runny mayonnaise.

Scoop mixture into an air-tight container and store in refrigerator. Mayonnaise should keep for 2-3 weeks.

*If preferred, you may substitute 1/2 teaspoon dried mustard in place of the soy lecithin. Resulting mayonnaise will have a slightly yellow color and may not be as thick.

15 Responses to “Easy Egg-Free Mayonnaise”

  1. bexn01 July 20, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

    This is probably a silly question but here goes… will soy lecithin granules work just as well as liquid soy lecithin? This looks like an awesome recipe but at the moment, I only have soy lecithin granules in the house. I don’t know if one works better than the other in general or if one works better than the other in certain situations. I would appreciate your input as well as your readers’ on this. Many thanks in advance!

    • megmeister July 21, 2014 at 8:13 am #

      Not a silly question at all! Though I’ve never used soy lecithin granules myself, I did a little research. I’ve read that you can soak the granules in the recipe’s liquid (in this case, soy milk) for an hour, then proceed with the recipe as directed. Since you are using granules, you might want to try using more like 3/4 teaspoon instead of 1/2 teaspoon.

      I hope this helps!

      • bexn01 July 22, 2014 at 9:42 am #

        Very much so, Thanks!! I appreciate you looking that up for me. I’ll try it with ¾ t and report back the results.

        Have you tried using black salt for part or all of the salt in this recipe? I was thinking that it would add an eggy taste to it so it would be even more like mayonnaise. Of course, it’s been years and years since I’ve had real mayonnaise so I could very well be forgetting what it tastes like!🙂

      • megmeister July 22, 2014 at 9:44 am #

        You are a genius! I do, in fact, have some black salt but the thought didn’t even cross my mind to use it. I’ll plan on trying it for my next batch. Thank you for the idea! =)

      • bexn01 July 22, 2014 at 10:20 am #

        I wish I could take credit for being a genius but I got the idea from The Vegg. It uses black salt to produce an eggy flavor. This now has me wondering if I could use The Vegg instead of the soy lecithin and salt. (I have that around, too.) It uses sodium alginate instead of soy lecithin, which should cause it to gel. I don’t know how much The Vegg to use though so I’d have to play around. I think I’ll try it both ways. I’m curious how similar the consistency will be to each other.

      • megmeister July 22, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

        Ah, gotcha. Well, you still thought of using black salt! The Vegg may very well work…it’s worth a shot!

      • bexn01 July 24, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

        I tried both an preferred the consistency of your recipe.🙂 Thanks for posting it!

      • megmeister July 24, 2014 at 1:11 pm #

        Yay, that is great to hear! My pleasure. =)

  2. justaboutveg July 22, 2014 at 7:50 am #

    This looks so easy! I was going to try Mark Bittman’s vegan mayo in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, but your recipe seems more like the real thing. Have you tried it with olive oil? I’d love to be able to make a lemon or herb aioli…

    • megmeister July 22, 2014 at 9:33 am #

      Awesome! I haven’t tried it with olive oil but it should work just fine. I would think you could substitute lemon for the white wine vinegar, and making herb aioli would be easy! Just stir in the herbs by hand after the mayo has been blended.

      Let me know how it turns out!

  3. babitaj July 26, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    that is my kind of recipe…will definitely try.

  4. Karen Louise Fletcher February 13, 2015 at 2:47 pm #

    My attempt flopped. I have made countless vegan mayos. All flopped bar one where I added the vinegar last. It’s so distressing to waste ingredients time and time again. I wish I could figure out what I am doing wrong.

    • megmeister February 15, 2015 at 12:06 pm #

      Hello Karen, I totally understand your frustration as I’ve been there! In my recipe, the vinegar is added along with the first four ingredients, not last. It is also best to stop processing as soon as the mayo thickens. Processing any longer will often liquify it again. I hope this helps!

  5. Karen Louise Fletcher February 16, 2015 at 12:49 am #

    I tried yet again! This time I added a teaspoon of Dijon mustard as I read that helps emulsify the mixture. I added the vinegar early as you suggested. BUT I used a different blender. And I added the oil VERY slowly. Voila! It worked. I think my other blender must be over beating the mayo – which is why it comes out runny. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

